100 People. 100 Photos. 100 Stories

Stranger # 14 – The lady whose name rhymes with Ka Ching!

Stranger:

Girl from Sikkim

Story:

“One Chicken Sandweech?” she would repeat after my order in an inquisitive tone. And then I nod.

I sat at that cafe in Sikkim for over 6 hours, writing stuff in my journal, of all those almost forgotten things about my Desert Trek done in Rajasthan the previous year.

The view outside was demanding to me to do just the same. It was a Friday morning, the mist was hanging low, the gentle drizzle  never stopped and everything else was screaming relax! I had a crazy trip already for about a week. Today was the rest day.  Today I would just sit back, relax and enjoy just being there. Sikkim without tourists is heavenly.

While I ordered cups of tea, coffee and food, this lady always served me with a pleasant smile.  She would’ve seen a lot of foreigners do this every now and then but I am sure she didn’t see a girl from India do this, sit in a cafe alone writing some stuff. During the last order, I asked her for directions to my next destination. She asked me what I was doing here. Later, I asked her the same too.

She is from a village nearby and she works in this cafe in Sikkim.

Meet Tshing! (Doesn’t it rhyme with Ka-Ching? ;))

7 responses

  1. Kata in Babuland

    interesting blog ya! so u are travelling a lot these days?

    March 30, 2012 at 9:08 am

    • Thanks Amrapali! Good to see you here. 🙂
      I have been traveling on and off for the past 2-3 years. But I publish stuff quite randomly. No major travels in the recent months. Waiting for June, then the calendar looks good again.

      March 30, 2012 at 9:27 am

      • Kata in Babuland

        sounds fun 🙂

        March 30, 2012 at 9:50 am

  2. I’m glad to have found your blog. I’ve been reading some of the stories behind the portraits. Wonderful concept.

    March 30, 2012 at 11:02 am

    • Thanks, I hope this way i will be able to make some intimate portraits than the shoot and run kinds! 🙂

      April 2, 2012 at 7:03 am

  3. Bravo. Thy are no longer Strangers once they are here!

    April 4, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    • I know! Strangers no more. 🙂

      April 5, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Leave a Reply

