100 People. 100 Photos. 100 Stories

Stranger # 06 – The pretty lady from Kutch.

The Stranger:

The Story:

It was a riot!

A riot of colors, her attire I mean. She is about one of the prettiest mom’s I have ever seen. She was tall, shy and dainty. Her smile was striking and I decided she has to be one of the 100 strangers. Only problem being, Kutch does not see a lot of tourist crowd which means the people here can be quite apprehensive about strangers coming with huge black boxes and following them around to take a picture.

I was continuously grumbling “I want to take her photo, I want to take her photo”. Arti was pushing me to go and ask if I could, but like I said, I am not too comfortable asking strangers for photo. With great difficultly I managed to get the words out of my mouth – “Ek Photu?” “One Photo?” *accompanied by a stupid looking grin hoping she would fall for that*. What did I know I was about to get another smile in answer. She smiled and smiled but said nothing, not even a slight nod of her head implying she is okay about me taking the photo.

Royally confused, I went back sulking to sit next to Arti and sulk more. Meanwhile her husband came to show us around the place, I asked him if I could take her photo. Either she doesn’t seem to understand Hindi or she was too shy to say anything. But anyway the husband called her. And she truly is pretty as hell.

She was preparing tea for us and I didn’t want to start shooting with the camera in her face immediately, so I was taking photographs of another shy little girl whose name I forgot now. Once the tea was done I sat in front of her pointing my camera in her face considering I had an 50mm prime on. She wouldn’t look at the camera. She got very conscious and looked here, there and everywhere but not in my direction. She is the mother of three children. She also helps her mother in law  in making those brilliant mirror work and kutch handicrafts.

She is Bharma.

She lives in  Hodka, Bhuj, Great Rann of Kutch.

6 responses

  1. pretty lady indeed 🙂

    May 19, 2011 at 11:27 am

  2. Its a lovely portrait. The stray light behind is a bit distracting but it also helps to light that vessel in the corner adding more context to the image.

    May 20, 2011 at 9:14 pm

  3. very pretty indeed…. great details and lovely light again!

    May 21, 2011 at 10:59 am

  4. Interesting picture.

    May 21, 2011 at 4:53 pm

  5. Hey Neelima ….simply loved this concept of capturing people as you travel and your write up is awesome. I am following your other blog 🙂

    August 26, 2012 at 10:56 am

    • Thank you, Rathina. I have met so many interesting people yet I forget the old memories as the new ones pile up. So thought this would be a good way to keep memories intact. 🙂

      September 23, 2012 at 2:37 am

Leave a Reply

